Loving the Proverbs

Since we’ve been on this Dave Ramsey kick recently, I’ve been going through the Proverbs and highlighting the verses that have to do with money. Turns out, there are a lot! Today I read in Proverbs 10:3-4:

3The LORD does not let the righteous go hungry,
but he thwarts the craving of the wicked.
4A slack handcauses poverty,
but the hand of the diligent makes rich.

These words are a big encouragement to me for two reasons: one is that with our recent cut in income it is sometimes scary to wonder how we are going to cover all of our expenses and keep good food on the table.

To be clear, I’m not really worried about starving or anything- we have enough to make sure we are all taken care of, and even if we didn’t, we have such wonderful and friends who not only would want to help us, but are able to help us. Many days I look at my pantry and refrigerator and say a prayer of thanks to God that we do not live in a place where we are in danger of going without food and water. We are very blessed, as I am reminded every time I turn on the tap for some clean drinking water. By many standards, even in this lean season we are blessed with abundance overflowing into abundance.

But still, we have these moments of stress where we wonder how it is all going to work out for us. The Lord’s promise to us is and continues to be that He is faithful to provide for all of our needs. Most importantly, He will sustain and nourish our hearts with truth and peace in this season. We will not go hungry.

The second reason these verses are so encouraging is that they remind me that we are on the right track. We are working diligently- at our jobs, in our search for a new job, in our home. As my husband so wisely pointed out the other day, this season of life is teaching us to have meaning in every single thing we do. There can be no other option when our bank account is low and we have bills to pay!

We have no illusions about a get-rich-quick scheme, or about just sitting back and saying “God will take care of it, so I don’t have to do anything.” We won’t go hungry- but we’re going to have big muscles from working so hard! And it seems this is the recipe to wealth: to work diligently and faithfully, day in and day out.

Actually, just the other day my mom was talking about how my grandpa gets to go on a cruise this week, and how he gets to go on cruises and vacations a couple of times a year. She was saying how when she was young they only ever went out to eat one day a year: Easter Sunday. Now, because my grandpa was so faithful and diligent and chose to live like no one else lived, he can go on really nice vacations yearly, and he can bless his children and grandchildren often!

I hope I can leave my own legacy of righteousness and diligence to my own children and grandchildren some day.

How about you- how is God meeting you today? How have you seen your own diligence pay off?

Read the next post in this series here!

One thought on “Loving the Proverbs

  1. Pingback: The Truth About Money: Struggling to Be Patient with God | A Rich Household

Leave a Reply

