The Hazards of Growing Up.

When we decided we were no longer going to spend our time on earth living frivolously we had no idea what we were getting ourselves into.
We have been married for a wonderful year and a half, and have learned a lot of life lessons. We thought that we had the whole “budgeting wisely” thing down pat… that is, until we decided to become debt free. Our life of frugality just was not living up to what we thought it would. Unbeknownst to us we were using a lot of money that we didn’t really have on things we didn’t really need. Two dollars here and seven dollars there really add up, especially when you are making ten dollars an hour, and once we cut up our credit cards we came to this jolting realization. We are poor.

Now, before I go on, I want to say that we aren’t really poor.  I understand that we are rich beyond the wildest imaginings of many people in the world and blessed in so many ways, but poor in the reality that we have no money to spend on anything except for necessities.

Since we have had credit cards to back up our spending habits, we never realized how much money is actually coming in and going out. Now we know, and we know we don’t have much coming in, but a lot going out. Our budget for the first month that we are really budgeting came up $600 short. This is because I have had my hours cut at work, had two-and-a-half sick days/job interview days, Kate didn’t get paid for two weeks in the month, and my web design cash flow dried up somewhat this month. We are hopeful that this will not be the case in the coming months, but it showed just how close to the edge we really are. Thankfully we have some extra cash to fall back on, but we really would have liked to have thrown that extra money at our debt.

This time of growth is painful, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. It has helped increase trust and honesty in our marriage, increased our faith and love for God, taught us many deep things about ourselves, and has shaped the way we look at our money into a much healthier view that will be invaluable in the future when we are making more money. We are learning to live more purposefully. Everything we put our resources into requires more foresight and thought. That being said, I hope this time of growth is a short one, and I trust that God will move us along when He is through teaching us whatever else He has to teach us.

Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much. Luke 16:10

I know this is a hard season for a lot of you. All I have to say is that I know God is good, and I am eagerly anticipating Him to continually show His goodness to us in this financial area of our lives. In the meantime, I pray that both you and I are faithful to Him and are willing to listen to the things He is trying to teach us along the way.

p.s.

I am looking for another job in the Dayton area. I am applying for part time positions in the meantime to fill in the income gap,  launching a wedding/portrait photography business, and continuing freelance work in web/graphic/print design. If anyone knows of any opportunities in the Dayton area for me I would appreciate any possible leads. Also please pray for my family when you think of us. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “The Hazards of Growing Up.

Leave a Reply

