Word of the Week Wednesday- The Bitterness Blues

The baby is refusing to take a nap. Dinner plans have yet to be started. There are about 20 things on the To-Do list, and several friends whose Voicemails have yet to be returned. It’s one of those weeks.

When life starts getting crazy like that, I often start battling bitterness. I’m bitter that Olivia won’t nap (and give me even fifteen minutes of peace to myself). I’m bitter that I have to make dinner because we don’t have the budget to eat out. I’m bitter that I don’t have a maid to do my chores, and that my friends apparently have plenty of free-time and expect that I do too. That last one for sure is a BIG FAT LIE. I’m just saying- when you are in a funk you start thinking and believing funny things.

Recently I have been reading Philippians. I usually try to read at least a couple of chapters, but today I was struck by a phrase that I just couldn’t get past.

You must have the same attitude that Christ Jesus had.

Though he was God, he did not think of equality with God as something to cling to. Instead, he gave up his divine privileges; he took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being.”

Philippians 2: 5-7 (NLT)

You know what I realized? When I’m in that bitter spot, it’s because I’m clinging to something. I’m clinging to a privilege I think I should have. I think I am entitled to, that I deserve, to get two hours of uninterrupted, baby-free time in the afternoons. That I deserve to be recognized for all the hard work I do and all the things I manage to accomplish in a day. That I deserve life to be easy, or at least to get a break sometimes.

And yet, Christ, who really does deserve something- the privileges of heaven because He is God- did not even claim such lofty things for himself. He became a slave. He lowered himself to dust and ashes. And he did so willingly.

Next time I’m battling the bitterness blues I hope I am reminded that I am clinging to what I believe are my entitlements. As my spirit is renewed, I am going to cling to The Word instead, reminding myself that I deserve nothing, yet at His own expense, He has given me everything. Thank you, Jesus!

How about you? What are you struggling with in day-to-day life? What do you feel entitled too? What is God speaking to you in the midst of that? Leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

