The Truth About Money:The Freedom of Giving (and My Wedding Dress Miracle)

Let me share a story.

Mike and I got married in September of 2009. We were blessed to have several family members who were willing to front the bill for many aspects of our wedding, but we still had to pay out of our own pockets for some of it. I was incredibly fortunate to be able to go to college completely for free- including room and board. Because of this I at least had a nice nest egg of cash in my savings account to put toward the wedding when we got engaged in January of 2009.

So here’s the story: in the summer of 2009, we had a couple of missionaries contact us saying they were in need of some funding. Mike and I felt strongly led to give away $1000, even though that was a huge chunk of our wedding fund. Nonetheless, we were obedient and wrote a check.

Want to know what I decided to sacrifice so that we could write that check? My $1000 wedding dress.

Yep. The one thing that some would argue is the most essential to every girl’s wedding day dreams. Instead, I decided to borrow a dress from a friend who happens to be the same size. The thing was, though, that deep down inside I really really wanted my own dress.

So we began praying about it, and we asked a few friends to start praying too.

Guess what happened? Someone up and out of the blue gave us $1000. They had no idea that we had given $1000 away, and they had no idea that I was planning on wearing someone else’s dress for the wedding. Isn’t that SO cool??

Mike and I’s lives are peppered with many similar stories about God’s faithfulness when we stepped out in faith and gave our money away isntead of hording it for our own use. Many, many stories. It’s not always how we expect- it’s not like every time I write a check for “x” number of dollars I get another for “x” of dollars, but one thing has remained true: we have always had exactly what we need. And in our commitment to giving generously, we have always had enough to give, even in the month we had a $600 shortfall in our budget because Mike unexpectedly  had his hours cut and we thought we wouldn’t even be able to pay our bills.

Check out Proverbs 11:24-26.

 24 One person gives freely, yet gains even more;
another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty.

25 A generous person will prosper;
whoever refreshes others will be refreshed.

26 People curse the one who hoards grain,
but they pray God’s blessing on the one who is willing to sell.

It is so completely upside-down. But isn’t that the way that Jesus’ Kingdom ALWAYS appears to us? And again, I don’t think this is an argument for the “health, wealth, and happiness” doctrine that some preach. If it is…then I obviously missed something because we are NOT wealthy, in financial terms at least. But we have certainly experienced refreshment and prosperity in our souls. We have certainly gained infinitely more by choosing to entrust our money to the Lord: whether he asks us to give outrageously, or we just got an unexpected bill in the mail that we have NO idea how we will manage to pay (we’ve got stories about that too!)

Just check out our monthly financial recaps– those alone are proof of the miraculous provision the Lord has given us as we have stepped out in faith, sacrificed greatly, and commited ourselves to becoming DEBT-FREE ASAP!

How about you? Have you entrusted yourself to the Lord’s economy, or do you struggle to believe that He will provide? Do you have any stories of seemingly miraculous provision? I would love to hear your stories- they encourage my soul on the days when I struggle!

Read more Truth About Money here!

4 thoughts on “The Truth About Money:The Freedom of Giving (and My Wedding Dress Miracle)

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: From Africa to Communal Living… and the Lessons Learned In-Between « The Debt Free Family

  2. Pingback: The Truth About Money: It’s Supposed to Be a Blessing | A Rich Household

Leave a Reply

