The Truth About Money: What Inheritance Will You Leave?

I have a daughter- a sweet little person whom I love with as much love as I think a human heart could possibly hold. I wonder often about what she is going to look like, what she is going to say, what she is going to do, who she is going to become. I also wonder about what sort of impact I will make on her life. What will she say about me when she is 5? 10? 20? 30?

I wonder: what sort of inheritance will I leave my daughter?

And I’m not just talking about a bank account filled with cash and a lot of zeros on the end. I mean the inheritance that is a rich history of going deeper still into the heart of God. The inheritance of genuine wisdom passed down from one generation to the next. The inheritance of eternal seeds planted and nurtured in the soul from a young age. Do you believe  with me that teaching a child to manage and use money wisely can be a part of that inheritance package?

Proverbs 13:22 says:

22 A good person leaves an inheritance for their children’s children,
but a sinner’s wealth is stored up for the righteous.

I do hope that one day I can leave my daughter an inheritance in the traditional sense- a bank account or trust fund or something that will bless her. I am taking steps today to get out of debt and begin building a life of financial health not just for myself, but so I have something to leave my daughter. But no matter what happens, I know that the inheritance that my daughter ultimately receives comes from the Lord, not me.

In addition, I hope that I am raising my child up in righteousness and wisdom; that I am passing along what I learn about managing wealth and money in particular, and equipping her to follow in my footsteps. Then, if she should someday inherit wealth or build wealth on her own (or both), I can be confident that I have done my part to ensure that she will know what to do with that blessing, and not turn it into a curse by squandering it or wasting it away on momentary things. Her wealth won’t be stored up for another.

1 Wisdom, like an inheritance, is a good thing
and benefits those who see the sun.

Ecclesiastes 7:11

How about you? Who are you leaving an inheritance for? What sort of inheritance are you leaving them? It’s a beautiful gift to be able to take what has been sown into yourself and sow it into others, isn’t it??

Read more Truth About Money here!

3 thoughts on “The Truth About Money: What Inheritance Will You Leave?

  1. Hey Kate. Great post 🙂 We do not currently have children but we talk about this all the time. I have no doubt my parents were/are great at raising me, but the money stuff did not sink in. If you are looking for some great resources I think Crown Financial Ministries has tons of wonderful Godly info on teaching your kids about money. Sorry their site is not working for me at the moment or I would leave a link for you… Best of luck! You are an inspiration as I’ve told you! 🙂

    • Crown keeps popping up in conversations. I think I need to check it out!

      I agree about the money thing growing up. It’s crazy to me that schools don’t even hardly touch on this subject. It’s so important!

  2. Pingback: The Truth About Money: WHAT IS YOUR SECRET?? | A Rich Household

Leave a Reply

