The Truth About Money: He’s After Your Heart

Recently in our household, Mike and I have been taking 10-15 minutes in the morning after we are all ready to walk out the door to sit down, drink some coffee, and read a passage in the Bible out loud while Olivia plays nearby. It just sort of started happening; we didn’t really plan it or anything, but it has turned into a fun little tradition!

Yesterday, Mike opened up Luke 12 and started reading…

The Parable of the Rich Fool

13Someone in the crowd said to him, “Teacher, tell my brother to divide the inheritance with me.”

14 Jesus replied, “Man, who appointed me a judge or an arbiter between you?” 15Then he said to them, “Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; life does not consist in an abundance of possessions.”

16 And he told them this parable: “The ground of a certain rich man yielded an abundant harvest. 17He thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’

18 “Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store my surplus grain. 19And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of grain laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.”’

20“But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’

21 “This is how it will be with whoever stores up things for themselves but is not rich toward God.”

What He’s Really After

I’ve heard this parable before, but I never did notice what propmted this teaching. Did you catch it this time?

13Someone in the crowd said to him, “Teacher, tell my brother to divide the inheritance with me.”

That made me laugh. Out loud. For no other reason than the fact that I can totally imagine this guy being me… He’s like a little kid tatteling to his mother because someone won’t share. Geeze- glad to know Jesus doesn’t put up with that either!

But more than that, I love how Jesus responds to this person’s heart, not just the question he asked. He sensed something on a deeper level, and that was that the root issue in this squabble between two brothers was greed.

Now, I’m not currently in some big fight with family over inheritance or money or anything, but Jesus’ parable definitely served as a reminder. And it’s one that Amanda touched on in her post on Saturday too. It’s that getting out of debt is not the goal in and of itself. In fact, I’m wasting my time if that is the case. I need to be reminded that I am getting out of debt unto something else. I am getting out of debt unto being able to say yes to whatever the Lord has for me and my family next.

And it’s not just about having no debts on my back so I can say yes financially to things. It’s about the journey we are taking, the refining process that is teaching us invaluable lessons at the heart-level that will equip us in the next season.

Remember: Jesus didn’t just answer the question asked out loud. He answered the question asked in the heart. And He’s doing the same with us. Externally, he is taking us on this journey to pay of debt, but, as it turns out, that’s really just a tool he is using to make the real change He was looking for.

As it turns out, He’s after my heart.

What about you?

What do you see when you read this parable? What hits your heart in this season, whatever it is? I hope this encourages you, wherever you are, that your circumstances have a purpose. And a divine one at that.

Read more Truth About Money here!

2 thoughts on “The Truth About Money: He’s After Your Heart

  1. Pingback: Getting out of debt UNTO something else « Spiritual Stuff

  2. Pingback: The Truth About Money: What Inheritance Will You Leave? | A Rich Household

Leave a Reply

