Guest Post: Happiness and the Art of Being Content

This post is written by Kate’s husband, Mike. Read his brand new blog here.

As a husband and father who pulls in a whopping twenty thousand and some odd dollars a year at a job I am not particularly fond of, not having a phone of my own, not owning my own car, and living in someone else’s home, you may think I would have a decent case assembled to justify feeling just kind-of miserable about my life.

As a matter of fact, I don’t think I could be happier with my life right now. My secret? I have learned to be content in my circumstances. Now this may not seem like a big deal to some of you, I know a lot of people who face a lot more difficult circumstances, but to me, it is a pretty big deal.

Until recently I have had the notion that my life would be somehow better if I were able to work in a job that I love that raked in a bunch of money so that I could provide a nice house for my family,  we could feel carefree with our grocery budget, and maybe take a vacation a few times a year. I was carrying around a lot of guilt, a burden that wasn’t mine to bear, about how I wasn’t able to provide for my family, how I am not measuring up to my peers, etc.

Jehovah Jireh

Oh how little I understand about provision. The more I am able to wrap my mind around how God is my provider, the more I am able to let go of my cumbersome burden of guilt and start enjoying what I do have.

How do I go about understanding this?

By understanding what I need, asking God to meet that need, and waiting to see what unfolds. Kate and I have a nice little history of seeing first hand how God provides perfectly for our needs. It isn’t usually in a normal way that He does this, but I think life is more interesting and fun that way. You can look back even in the history of this blog to see some of our crazy adventures.

I am sure some of you have similar stories and we would love to hear them! Leave a comment or you can even email us if you want to share part of your story.

Leave a Reply

